Quotable

13 Jun

I’m a “quotes” kind of girl (no pun intended). I appreciate meaningful quotes in books and ponder them. It’s cheesy but at least I embrace my cheesiness. Prepare yourself.

So, a coworker lent me a book this week: Hey Whipple, Squeeze This: A Guide to Creating Great Ads by Luke Sullivan. I read it in one night… during Game 4 of Lakers vs. Celtics, might I add. Wait! Before you call me “nerdy”, let me defend myself. My coworker performed extensive underlining of this particular book so I just read the underlined parts. Who’s the nerd now!?

Regardless, I enjoy these kinds of books (not just the ones with underlining in them) and my friend, Luke, made many interesting points so allow me to quote him.

“All art is a series of recoveries from the first line. The hardest thing to do is put down the first line. But you must.” (great insight into being a creative writer… or artist)

“Telling a reader why your product has merit is never as powerful as showing him.”

“It is far more impressive when others discover your good qualities without your help.”

Great things to remember. In addition, Mr. Sullivan made the point that advertisements are rarely what the audience turns on the television to watch (or flips through a magazine for, etc). That’s the first hurdle to jump. Reaching the disinterested and distracted potential consumer. And, advertisers pay BIG bucks for those rarities (Super Bowl). Just read the book… Luke explains it better.

2 Responses to “Quotable”

  1. camp4 June 16, 2008 at 2:36 am #

    Those are good lessons. And it’s proof that you’re being systematically brainwashed by TRG! šŸ˜‰

  2. Nerd Alert June 17, 2008 at 2:21 am #

    Yes, I am said nerd (by the way, it’s “Hey Whipple, Squeeze This” not “Whipple, Squeeze This”). And if it’s a good brainwashing you’re after, I recommend “The Peaceable Kingdom”. You won’t be disappointed. Or rather, you will.

Leave a Reply

