Consider the Silence… Broken

15 Sep

I’m breaking my blog silence.  So, what’s my excuse for the past 6-ish months?

1) Freakish busyness
2) Perfectionism

The first reason is obvious and self-explanatory.  Work has been absolute insanity for the past couple of months.  I’m not talking “oh my gosh, I don’t even have enough time to give myself a daily manicure” crazy.  I’m talking “I couldn’t even give myself a manicure if I tried because I don’t have any fingernails left as a result of my recently-developed extreme nail-biting feast” crazy.  Yikes.  Well, those days are over… because that’s neither healthy nor fun. And, I’m in desperate need of a manicure.

The second reason is reflective and deep.  Prepare yourself for some mind-blowing psychoanalysis.

“Hi, my name is Corley and I’m a perfectionist.”

Come to think of it, that analysis doesn’t require any level of reflection whatsoever.  It’s a fact.  A scientific fact, at that.  For example, let’s analyze my approach to topic selection.

Okay, it’s that time again.  Time to update the ol’ blog.  What should I write about?  It should be interesting and hilarious, just like me.   Err… I hope I’m still fooling everyone (well, all 3 people that read my blog every so often, includng my mom) into thinking I’m interesting and hilarious.  What if my blog is becoming dull?  Uh oh.  I need this blog post to really “hit a homerun”.  Oh yeah, and please don’t use sports analogies in your post.  How about augmented reality?  No way.  That topic is far too overanalyzed and already outdated.  Think of another.  How about that article you found the other day?  How about you write an entire 4-page analysis of that article and then scratch the whole thing because it’s dumb and boring?  How does that sound?

And that’s just topic selection.  Don’t even get me started on how I must correctly type each word as  I go because typos just don’t fly.  What if I don’t catch them before clicking “Publish”? I can’t continue typing a word until I know the previous is correctly spelled.  Annnnnd, how I follow the ever-efficient “write a sentence, re-read the sentence, rewrite the first half of the sentence, re-rewrite that section of the sentence, realize that word isn’t perfect, scratch the entire sentence and rewrite it, continue with the paragraph, reread the paragraph, notice sentences that end in prepositional phrases, rewrite sentences 2,3,4 and 7 out of 9, reread the entire paragraph……” process.

That’s exhausting.

Heck, although I’m extremely close to attaining perfection (because my Mom says so), my blog doesn’t need to be perfect.  There aren’t character limits, my blog won’t win awards, and spelling certainly doesn’t need to be absolutely perfect… Ehh, okay, let’s be reasonable and understand that spelling still needs to be perfect.  Or, as accuratte as possible.

… Yeah, that extra “t” is killing me. But, I’ll keep it because I’m taking a new HPBW approach.

2 Responses to “Consider the Silence… Broken”

  1. Cam Beck October 7, 2009 at 3:07 pm #

    Absolutely perfect post.

  2. Mom November 6, 2009 at 6:39 pm #

    I am glad you returned to blogging. And, you are perfect – misspellings and all!

Leave a Reply

